We believe that the church is the Body of Christ. All who trust in Jesus Christ alone as Lord and Saviour are members of His Body and manifest His glory.

Detailed Beliefs
We believe the church is the Body of Christ (Col 1:18, 24) and consists of all believers from Pentecost (Acts 1:5) to the Rapture (1 Thess 4:13-18) with Christ as the Head (Eph 1:22,23). The church is given the position of preeminence in God’s program (Heb 12:23). She will reign with Christ as co-regent during the Millennium (Rev 3:21; 19:7).

The church is distinct from Israel (1 Cor 10:32). Members of the church are organically related to Christ (Col 1:27), the head of the church (Col 1:18), through the baptism of the Spirit (1 Cor 12:13). There is no ethnic discrimination within the church (Eph 2:14-15). The church enjoys a unique relationship with Christ that is called a mystery, something unknown and unrealized in the Old Testament (Eph 3:3-6). Members are related to each other in Christ (1 Cor 12:27). It is a new creation (Gal 6:15; 1 Cor 5:17). The church age believer is identified with Christ in His death burial and resurrection and is consequently not under the jurisdiction of the Mosaic Law (Rom 6:14; 7:4-6; 2 Cor 3:6-9).


All believers from Pentecost to the Rapture constitute the universal Body of Christ (1 Cor 12:13). Members of a local church constitute the Body of Christ in a specific location (Gal 1:1).

The purpose of the church in the present dispensation is to manifest the glory of God (Eph 3:21). This is accomplished as believers are equipped to the work of the ministry and through mutual edification (Eph 4:11-16). The church is characterized by sound doctrine (1 Tim 3:15); purity and holiness (2 Cor 6:14-7:1; 1 Pet 1:16); internal unity (Eph 4:3); evangelism (2 Cor 5:20; 2 Tim 4:5); mutual love (1 John 2:10; 4:7-21); righteous living (1 John 3:7), discipline ( 1 Cor 5:4-5; 2 Thess 3:6); mutual support (1 Cor 16:1-4) and orderliness (1 Cor 14:40). The church age believer is being conformed to the image of Christ (Rom 8:29).

There are two offices in the church: the office of pastor (Acts 20:17,28; 1 Tim 3:1) and the office of deacon (Acts 6:1-6; 1 Tim 3:8). Both offices demand men of proven godly character (1 Tim 3: 1-13; Titus 1:5-9). The Pastor is the under-shepherd; the one primarily responsible for the care of the local church (1 Pet 5:2-4). He is to teach the Word (John 21:15-17; Eph 4:11; 1 Tim 3:2; 4:16), to pray (Acts 6:4), to rule (1 Tim 5:17; Heb 13:7), to protect (Acts 20:28-30), and to give his life for those entrusted to his care (John 10:11). Where possible, there should be a plurality of pastors ( Acts 14:23; 20:17; Phil 1:1; James 5:14). The office of deacon is primarily one of service to the church (Acts 6:2).


The ordinances of the local church are baptism by immersion (Acts 2:41; 1 Cor 1:16) and the Lords supper (Acts 2:42; 1 Cor 11:23-29). These ordinances are symbolic in nature. They do not convey grace to the participant.